Bringing the water to the stream

John Cage lived alone in a log cabin in Walden, reciting one minute stories every minute of every night for 1,000 nights while he slept.

One day a professor of mycology came and met him whilst doing some field research.  After a meal of beans, rice and vegetables grown from Cage’s garden, the professor said, “Now that we have spoken I see that you are a man of learning and intelligence.  I am here studying mushrooms whose properties may be useful in furthering our medical science and curing disease.  When knowledge like yours can give so much back, why serve only yourself out here alone?”

He remained quite still considering these words for many hours after the professor had left, until, quite suddenly he stood up, took his bowl, filled it with the water left over from the cooking, carried it down to the stream and poured it in.

Satisfied, he said, “Now I have given back.”

About lotusquotus

I came across myself one day, almost by accident, and promptly realised I was trapped inside it, and outside it, and all about it. At first this struck me with a spurt of panic as one can well imagine, but little by little I began to make peace with this oddest of predicaments. I decided it best to accept the situation and to make the most of it by cleaning and decorating myself and making it a nice place to be. Those moments still appear when my mind is spun back to that original panic and I want to break free of myself. Yet overall, and more and more as time goes on, I am tending slowly, gingerly and peacemakingly towards the inevitable conclusion: I am myself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Welcoming your Words...

